[nSLUG] DST & tzdata

Bill Davidson billdavidson at eastlink.ca
Mon Mar 5 11:40:49 AST 2007


Hi:

On Sun, 2007-03-04 at 04:10 -0400, Mike wrote:
> Slackware seems not to have a patch or equivalent for the new DST
> rules that GloboCop has ordered.

I use slapt-get and/or swaret to keep my Slackware box mostly current,
and last month it installed glibc-zoneinfo-2.3.6-noarch-7_slack11.0,
which seems to have everything up-to-date:

bill at plato:~$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v America/Halifax | fgrep 2007
America/Halifax  Sun Mar 11 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007
AST isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
America/Halifax  Sun Mar 11 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007
ADT isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800
America/Halifax  Sun Nov  4 04:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007
ADT isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800
America/Halifax  Sun Nov  4 05:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007
AST isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400

On this subject, can anyone explain why there are America/Halifax,
Canada/Atlantic, posix/America/Halifax, posix/Canada/Atlantic,
right/America/Halifax, and right/Canada/Atlantic ?


-- 
Bill Davidson <billdavidson at eastlink.ca>

!DSPAM:45ec3b2d303251814610735!




More information about the nSLUG mailing list